Show Summary Details

Page of
PRINTED FROM Oxford Art Online. © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single article in Oxford Art Online for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

Ryūkyū [Ryūkyū Shotō; Nansei Shotō]locked

  • Josef Kreiner


Chain of Japanese islands stretching from Kyūshū in the north to Taiwan in the south. The Ryūkyū islands include Okinawa, Miyako, Senkaku and Yaeyama (Okinawa Prefect.), and the Satsunan islands (Tokara and Amami; Kagoshima Prefect.). In terms of ethnicity, language and culture, these islands belong to the larger sphere of Japanese culture, but independent developments and the admixture of non-Japanese elements set the Ryūkyūs apart from the mainstream of Japanese culture....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.